We have adopted sociocracy as our mode of governance. Sociocracy allows for decentralized decision-making by taking advantage of the strengths, aspirations and values of each member of the organization. The sociocratic process relies on collective intelligence and allows the community to reach a common goal with the consent of each member; nobody is ignored.

Sociocracy can be adopted by organizations of any size: a family, a company, a country! It was developed by Gerard Endenburg, a Dutch engineer and entrepreneur, and uses four principles: circles, double linking, decision-making by consent, and election without candidates.

At Cohabitat Québec (CQ), all members must have received training in sociocracy.

Consultation circles

  • Core (thematic) circles are made up of full members and have an elected director. These circles are responsible for decisions that fall within the mandate and objectives assigned to their circle by the Board. They forward proposals to the General Circle for adoption or approval.
  • The General Circle,  which at Cohabitat we call the General Board of Directors,is an expanded Board of Directors. It is formed by the directors and double links of each circle as well as the general coordinator. This circle makes strategic decisions sociocratically and adopts the rules and policies of the organization. By default, all decisions taken by the General Board of Directors are decisions of the Board, unless a director objects.
  • The restricted Board of Directors operates in a circle within the General Board of Directors. It is made up of the directors from the thematic circles and an outside director. The general coordinator also participates in Board meetings.

Double link

Two people from each circle participate in the decision-making in the next higher circle: the circle’s coordinator and an elected representative (also called a delegate). The latter represents the general interest of their circle to the next higher circle. Their term of office is two years.

Decision-making by consent

Unlike consensus, which is one of the tools of democracy and seeks to convince and rally all YES votes, consent requires a commitment not to oppose a proposal. It does not seek to have members approve a proposal, rather it asks if members oppose it (the aim is zero objection).

Selection and assignment of members

The sociocratic election is an election without a pre-determined list of candidates. It happens in the following way:

  • Individuals are given functions or certain mandates with the consent of the Circle.
  • Each person nominates the candidate of their choice and presents their arguments.
  • The Circle decides to select a candidate based on the arguments presented.
  • The choice and assignment of people to a role or the delegation of a task is made on the basis of the consent of the members present, after an open discussion in the Circle.

Cohabitat Québec fonctionne selon un mode de gouvernance sociocratique. La sociocratie repose sur quatre règles : le cercle de concertation, le double lien, la prise de décision par consentement et le choix et l’affectation des membres.

L’engagement des membres dans la communauté contribue au plein potentiel de ce mode de gouvernance.

Cercles

  • Le conseil d’administration (CA) comprend les administrateurs de CQ et la coordonnatrice générale et devient le cercle supérieur lorsqu’il doit prendre des décisions sociocratiques d’orientation. Le cercle supérieur entérine les règlements et politiques de l’organisation et adopte des résolutions au nom de CQ. Il est le gardien du concept de cohabitat. Il est responsable devant les membres.
  • La coordination générale comprend la coordonnatrice et tous les répondants des cercles d’orientation qui lui sont rattachés (Bâtiment, Terrain, Vie communautaire, Développement communautaire, Communications et Gestion). La coordination générale devient le cercle général lorsqu’il y a des décisions sociocratiques à prendre. Le cercle général est composé des répondants et de leur second-lien. Les membres du cercle général participent aux décisions et adoptent les documents à être approuvés ultérieurement par le cercle supérieur.
  • Les cercles d’orientation sont formés par l’ensemble des membres de CQ. Les différents cercles sont responsables de la réalisation des objectifs qui leur ont été délégués par le cercle général. Ils prennent les décisions qui touchent leur domaine d’activité. Ils sont responsables devant le cercle général.

Double lien

Le double lien est réalisé par la présence de deux personnes reliant deux cercles hiérarchiques. La première est élue sociocratiquement par le cercle d’en haut. La seconde provenant du cercle en dessous est le second lien. Les seconds liens sont élus par consentement par les membres des comités auxquels ils sont rattachés et siègent au cercle décisionnel plus haut. Les seconds liens des comités représentent, par leur propre personne, l’intérêt général de leur comité. Leur mandat est d’une durée de deux ans.

Prise de décision par le consentement

Contrairement au consensus qui fait partie des outils de la démocratie et qui cherche à convaincre et à rallier tous les OUI, le consentement demande un engagement à ne pas s’opposer à une proposition. Il ne cherche pas à ce que les membres approuvent une proposition, mais demande si les membres ne s’y opposent pas (zéro objection).

Choix et affectation des membres

L’élection sociocratique est une élection sans liste de candidatures préétablies;

  • Les individus se voient confier des fonctions ou certains mandats avec le consentement du cercle;
  • Chacun met en candidature le candidat de son choix et présente ses arguments;
  • Le cercle décide de retenir un candidat sur la base des arguments présentés;
  • Le choix et l’affectation des personnes dans une fonction ou la délégation d’une tâche se font sur la base du consentement des membres présents, et ce, après une discussion ouverte dans le cercle.